2015 Arty Awards Nominees And Winners

The Abbotsford Arts Council presented the 11th Annual Arty Awards on Saturday, April 11, at the Matsqui Centennial Auditorium. The “Old Hollywood Glamour” themed evening celebrated and honoured individuals of all ages who have achieved excellence in their art as well as arts advocates who have contributed significantly to the Abbotsford arts scene.

In addition to the awards presentations that evenin g there was also be a catered reception, silent auction and live entertainment including a condensed version of Groove Force Productions’ legendary “Moulin Rouge” performance.

As usual, the event was a gala affair which celebrated the arts, in all their forms, in Abbotsford.

2015 Arty Awards Nominees and Winners

*Winners highlighted in bold.

Outstanding Artist in the Performing Arts – Music

Chad Joiner, Conductor/Performer/Educator

John Welsh, Singer/Songwriter

Julia Toews, Performer/Educator

Saint Soldier, Rapper

Outstanding Artist in the Performing Arts – Theatre

Paulina Harskamp, Singer/Actor/Director

Danielle Warmenhoven, Actress/Stage Crew

Karen Mortensen, Costume Designer/Actress/Singer

Mary Boonstra, Creative Director of Groove Force Productions

Philip Dyck, Actor/Singer

Outstanding Artist in the Performing Arts – Dance

Nicci Marsh, Instructor/Choreographer/Dancer

Jordan Allarie, Choreographer/Director/Performer

Marissa Culpin, Dancer/Performer/Choreographer

Nicholas Hasenpflug, Dancer/Choreographer/Promoter

Outstanding Artist in the Visual Arts – 2-Dimensional

Riley Charters, Painter

Justin Zacharias, Multimedia/Tattoo Artist

Ursula Rettich, Contemporary Artist

Outstanding Artist in the Visual Arts – 3-Dimensional

Dean Lauzé, Multimedia Artist

Carol Klassen, Silversmith/Sculptor/Painter

Joy, Fine Artist/Jeweler

Outstanding Artist in the Visual Arts – Digital Arts

Laura Vanderwel, Graphic Designer/Illustrator

Chelsea Caldwell, Graphic Designer

Outstanding Artist in the Literary Arts

Lynda Grace Philippsen, Writer

Surjeet Kalsey, Poet/Writer

Christine Caldwell Outstanding Arts Advocate

Ryan Huston, Architect/Arts Supporter

Asger Hansen, Musician

Emily Isaacson, Author/Speaker/Advocate

Sophia Suderman, Community Arts Organizer

Outstanding Artist in Elementary School, All Genres

Greta Loewen, Artist

Outstanding Artist in Secondary School, All Genres

Brynn Ellis, Artist/Showjumper/Actor

Melanie Sawatzky, Painter/Illustrator

Kai & Lia Gronberg, Musicians/Songwriters

Nicki Meier, Musician

Outstanding Artist in Post-Secondary School, All Genres

Julie Epp, Illustration Artist

Terrill Smith, Art Historian/Arts Advocate

Outstanding Arts Organization

SippChai Café, Local Café/Community Arts Supporter

Central Fraser Valley Fiddlers, Musicians

Abbotsford Downtown Business Association, “Creating a Vibrant Community”

Outstanding Artist in the Culinary Arts

Wim Tas, Master Chocolatier

Jeff Massey, Executive Chef/Restauranteur

Pam MacGregor, Custom Sugar Cookie Designer

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

Manjit Singh Sandhu, Multimedia Artist

Donate to the Arty Awards

Support Abbotsford’s artists by a financial contribution! Your donation will help offset the costs of the event as well as augment the program’s sustainability, ensuring that artists who have achieved excellence in their art and have made selfless community contributions continue to be recognized for years to come. Upon request, a tax-deductible receipt can be issued for donations above $20.

Donations to the Arty Awards can be made with your debit card, credit card or Paypal account via CanadaHelps.org by clicking the donate button below, or can be made by cheque to:  Abbotsford Arts Council, P.O. Box 336, Abbotsford, B.C. V2T 6Z6.


Leave a Reply