Abbotsford Artists Honored At The Tenth Annual Arty Awards

By April 16, 2014Arts/Culture

By Shaheen Shivji. Each year the Abbotsford Arts Council awards local residents who have achieved excellence in their respective art as well as art advocates that have greatly contributed to the arts in the city with an Arty award. This year was no exception, “The talent that comes from this community is breathtaking,” said Mayor Bruce Banman in his opening remarks to the crowd that filled Matsqui Centennial Auditorium at Saturday’s Tenth Annual Arty Awards.

Cover photo: Donna Bishop, Founder of MSA Poets Potpourri Society
Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

This year’s ceremony opened with an energetic dance by Bollywood Hungama that saw youth clad in red, black and gold Indian wear sparkle on stage that captivated the awestruck audience, who rewarded the entertainers with a thunderous applause—the first of many heard throughout the evening’s two-hour show.

Johan-WorstThis year’s Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Donna Bishop, Founder of MSA Poets Potpourri Society. In addition, among the many award recipients was Johan Worst, who won for Outstanding Artist in the Performing Arts – Music category. The well-known bassist with fantastic comedic timing said in his acceptance speech “I want to thank the lovely lady who nominated me, she has exquisite taste!” Worst frequently performs throughout the Lower Mainland and locally as part of the Envision Concert Series.

All of this year’s winners were presented with a locally made copper award shaped like sail. “The Arts Council is the epicentre of the Abbotsford art community, so these awards are essentially how we show appreciation for all artists,” Gail Gomanski, Executive Director, Abbotsford Arts Council, added.

To view the list of this year’s winners click here.

A list of all the nominees and winners can be viewed at .

Leave a Reply