Abbotsford Rugby Div 3 Men Win Title

By May 17, 2014Sports, Sports News

From Abbotsford Rugby. The Abbotsford Div 3 Men took on the Capilano B team in the Div 3 Final at Klahanie Park on May 10. It was a rematch of the year prior, which Capilano managed to get past the Abbotsford team but the local squad was out to rectify that this year.

Photo from Abbotsford Rugby

The Abby boys jumped out to an early 6-0 lead, capitalizing on penalties through the boot of Dan Tou. Big hits were flying from both sides as the back row of Thomas Agafonow, Nathan Sagert and Jason Copp led the Abby defense in an early goalline stand that set the tone of the game. Abby added to their lead when Nick Hossman scampered in for a great support try in the corner to move the score to 13-0. Capilano came to play and answered back with a break up the middle for a try that closed the lead.

After half time and a long passage of highly contested play, Tou managed to use his elusive step to hit a half gap and link with hard running center Sebastian Gibson who dashed 40 meters past several defenders to score the try. The Capilano team was determined not to let the game slip away and again marched the ball down the field for a score. Abby captain Bryan Cuthbertson rallied his troops as the margin narrowed and Capilano was within a try.

Gaining ground into Capilano territory, the forwards did well to retain possession with strong runs from Iqbal Sidhu, Tyler Adams, Carlos Navarrete and several other Abby players. Dan Tou then worked some more magic as he received a loop ball off Ryan McWhinney, hit a gap, and linked with Abby’s Chuck Norris, Aaron Cyr, for a well executed try.

Capilano again was not finished and managed to put some phases together and capitalized on an Abby mistake, grinding in for a hard fought try to bring the score within six with time winding down. The tension was high and Abby worked to control possession as the clock ticked down. The visiting team was rewarded with a penalty, which Jason Copp slotted to move the lead to 9. Capilano pressed frantically, but Abby was able to hold on and won 29-20 to take the BC Title, their first Div 3 title in over a decade. Congratulations boys!

Tries: Nick Hossman, Sebastian Gibson, Aaron Cyr
Penalties: Dan Tou (3), Jason Copp
Converts: Dan Tou

Leave a Reply