Bateman Rugby Stars Make Canada U-20

From ARFC. Justin Douglas, Ryan March and Jorden Best, all products of Robert Bateman Secondary, have been selected to play for Canada U-20 in the World Junior Trophy (WJT) competition in Chile. Of the 26 traveling players from across the country, 11 are from BC and three are Abbotsford products. We wish our local players the best of luck in their trip!
Courtesy of Andrew Smith, BCRU
VICTORIA, BC – Canadian Under-20 men’s national team head coach Mike Shelley has announced his final selections for the Junior World Rugby Trophy. The traveling roster of 26 includes 11 players from British Columbia, as well as an additional six who are currently competing in BC’s club leagues.

“It is pleasing to see such a solid representation again from BC players,” said BC Rugby Provincial Coach and Development Manager Dave Brown. “For Pat Kay, this will be his third tournament and his leadership on and off the field will be key to the team’s performance. The pure U20 players (Alex Mascott, Ryan March, Charlie Thorpe and Jordan Harvey) have worked hard over two years to make this squad and this is a great reward for the work that they have put into our U18 and U19 Programs.”

There are six selections eligible for U19 rugby, each of whom played significant roles in BC’s U18 national championship run in 2012. The list includes Neil Courtney, Connor Hamilton, Justin Douglas, James Pitblado, Jorden Sandover-Best and Nathan Yanagiya.

“This will be a tremendous opportunity to perform against older players and bank the experience for 2014,” added Brown. “All six have come through our U16 and U18  Academy programs and five have been involved with the BC Elite Youth Sevens Program with Shane Thompson. They are there on merit and we look forward to following their performance in Chile.”

Canada faces Tonga on May 28th, Japan on June 1st and Uruguay on June 5th. Canada’s recent finishes at the JWRT are fifth in 2012, fourth in 2011 and fifth in 2010.

Canadian U20 roster 2013 JWRT:

Neil Courtney, (UBC Thunderbirds) Vancouver, BC
Jason Galbraith, (Brandon Barbarians/Meralomas) Minnedosa, MB
Connor Hamilton, (UBC Thunderbirds) Vancouver, BC
Jordan Harvey, (Capilano RFC) Vancouver, BC
Matt Heaton, (SABRFC/James Bay Athletic Association) Godmanchester, QC
Sawyer Herron, (UVic Vikes) Oakville, ON
Ryan March, (Abbotsford Rugby Club) Abbotsford, BC
Alex Mascott, (UBC Thunderbirds) Vancouver, BC
Matt Mulllins, (Peterborough Pagans RFC), Belleville, ON
Thomas Roche, (Brandon Barbarians/Meralomas) Brandon, MB
Djustice Sears-Duru, (Leicester Tigers) Toronto, ON
Jack Smith, (Peterborough RFC) Peterborough, ON
Charlie Thorpe, (UBC Thunderbirds) Vancouver, BC
Peter Van Buren, (Calgary Canucks) Calgary, AB
Charles DeBove, (SABRFC/James Bay Athletic Association) St. Sauver, QC
Justin Douglas, (Abbotsford Rugby Club) Abbotsford, B.C.
Jack Fitzpatrick, (Blackrock RFC) Dublin, Ireland
Lucas Hammond, (Toronto Nomads), Toronto, ON
Patrick Kay, (UVic Vikes) Duncan, BC
Johnny Laplaca, (Barrie RFC) Barrie, ON
Conor McCann, (Balmy Beach Rugby Club) Toronto, ON
Shane O’Leary, (Young Munster) Munster, Ireland  
James Pitblado, (UVic Vikes) Vancouver, BC
Jorden Sandover-Best, (UBC Thunderbirds) Vancouver, BC
Jacob Webster, (Lindsay RFC) Lindsay, ON
Nathan Yanagiya, (UVic Vikes/Capilano RFC) Vancouver, BC
Rugby Canada Staff:
Mike Shelley – Head Coach
Graeme Moffatt – Assistant Coach
Todd Silverthorn – Team Manager
Dr. Anthony Dixon – Team Doctor
Jessica Smith – Athletic Therapist
Lorna Barry – Strength and Conditioning Coach/Analyst

For more on Abbotsford Rugby please use the links in our Sports Directory or simply click here.

Leave a Reply