Liberals Sweep Abbotsford, Mission

Mike de Jong’s gambit to kick Councillor Moe Gill to the curb in Abbotsford South and replace him with criminologist Darryl Plecas paid off as did his decision to run Simon Gibson in Abbotsford Mission.

The Liberals swept all three ridings with Maple Ridge-Mission going Liberal as well.

Darryl Plecas

Darryl Plecas

The BC Liberals won a stunning comeback under Premier Christy Clark’s leadership and De Jong seems poised, along with Rich Coleman who won handily in Fort Langley-Aldergrove, to play a senior role in the Liberal cabinet.

Simon Gibson

Simon Gibson

The Liberals were down by more than 20 percent coming into the election and predictions, as recently as Monday had both Abbotsford-South and Abbotsford-West up in the air and possibly switching.

Both John van Dongen and Moe Gill knew, going in, that independent candidates haven’t often won in the pendulum swings of BC politics but many were surprised by the strength of the Liberal win.

Gill will return to his seat on Abbotsford Council while Simon Gibson will now move to a new job in Victoria creating a vacancy on council.

For a complete and official list of election results please go to Elections BC

For latest results click here.

Abbotsford Results

A/O 22:13

Fraser Valley Results

A/O 22:13
Abbotsford-Mission LIB
Abbotsford-South LIB
Abbotsford- West LIB

Langley LIB
Fort Langley-Aldergrove LIB

Chilliwack LIB
Chilliwack Hope LIB

Maple Ridge Pitt Meadows
Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows LIB
Maple Ridge-Mission LIB

Leave a Reply