Sports: ARFC Youth Awards 2012

By January 23, 2013Sports News

Youth Award Winners

Abbotsford Rugby Football Club (ARFC) held one of the biggest youth awards nights in history for 2012 with over 100 players and parents in attendance to celebrate the achievements of our young athletes.

Congratulations to all Abbotsford youth rugby teams on strong seasons, especially the U-18 girls and U-15 Boys who won championships. Here is a summary of award winners for all youth age groups. It was very difficult for coaches to decide on these awards due to the high caliber of play by many individuals. All players had an important role in their team’s success this year.

Congratulations to our award winners and all of our players!

Overall Summary for 2012:

U-19 Boys (Tier 1) – 3rd in BC
U-18 Girls – 1st in BC
U-17 Boys – 4th in BC
U-15 Boys – 1st in Mainland; (island didn’t want to play a final)
U-14 Boys – undefeated in jamboree play (20-0)

U-19 Tier 1 Men Award Winners

MVP – Sebastian Gibson
Best Forward – Justin Vargas, Nick Windt
Best Back – Joey Campbell
Most Improved – Graeme Fugger
Coach’s Award – JD Paul

U-18 Girls Award Winners

MVP – Tiffany Picketts
Best Forward – Rachelle Wenting
Best Back – Shelby Pihl
Most Improved – Keera Grabbe

U-17 Boys Award Winners

MVP – Josh Thiel
Best Forward – Jason Hignell
Best Back – Jake Thiel
Most Improved – Matt Blair

U-15 Boys Award Winners

MVP – Josh Long
Best Forward – Brady Desjardins
Best Back – Steve Michaud
Most Improved – Dylan Kojin

U-14 Boys Award Winners

MVP – Curtis Bird
Best Forward – James Keetch
Best Back – Payton Alexander
Most Improved – Michael Doerksen
Coach’s Award – Jayden Ned

Thank you to Erica Retief, Terry France, Graeme Watt and other photographers for their pictures!

Leave a Reply