Bearcat Men’s Volleyball Squad Hits Top Ten

By January 27, 2015High School Sports, Sports

The Columbia Bible College (CBC) Bearcats Men’s Volleyball squad has climbed into the top ten ranking of the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA).

Cover photo: Paragon Creative. Courtesy Columbia Bible College

CBC Athletics
Columbia Varsity Athletics supports Columbia’s mission in equipping people for a life of discipleship, ministry, and leadership in service to the church and community. Columbia Athletics provides the opportunity and the means for students to grow in faith & character through sport. Our values are Christian faith, working in community and pursuing excellence in all areas of life. If you are passionate about faith and sport, and have a desire to grow in your relationship with Christ and develop the gifts and talents God has given you, then we want to hear from you!

Bearcats Volleyball
As a member of PACWEST and the CCAA, Columbia’s Volleyball program competes against some of the best colleges and universities in Canada. Playing in a 7 team league, the Bearcats strive to be the best they can be in hopes of representing British Columbia at the CCAA National Championships each year. In March 2011, the men’s volleyball team made history, winning their first CCAA National Championship, while the women’s team has taken medals at the provincial level and competed nationally in the past few years.

Men’s Volleyball Rankings

(As of Jan. 27, 2015)

1  Douglas Royals PACWEST 1
2  Red Deer Kings ACAC 3
3  Augustana Vikings ACAC 4
4  Mohawk Mountaineers OCAA 5
5  Humber Hawks OCAA 2
6  Durham Lords OCAA 6
7  VIU Mariners PACWEST 7
8  St. Thomas Tommies ACAA 8
9  NAIT Ooks ACAC 9
10  CBC Bearcats PACWEST 15
11  Griffons d’Outaouais RSEQ 11
12  Medicine Hat Rattlers ACAC 12
13  Camosun Chargers PACWEST 10
14  SAIT Trojans ACAC NR
15  St. Clair Saints OCAA NR



The Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association enriches the academic experiences of student-athletes by providing leadership, programs and services that foster development through high-level competitive opportunities in intercollegiate sport.

National competition was initiated in 1971 when colleges in British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba formed the 4-West Championships in seven sports. Ontario and Quebec initiated similar competitions in 1972, and in 1974 the CCAA was founded.

Today, CCAA student-athletes compete in seven sports at 10 CCAA national championships, each hosted by a CCAA member institution. Our 94 member institutions include colleges, universities, technical institutes and cégeps located in eight provinces and regionally governed by five member conferences:

PACWEST (Pacific Western Athletic Association) in British Columbia
ACAC (Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference) in Alberta and Saskatchewan
OCAA (Ontario Colleges Athletic Association) in Ontario
RSEQ (Réseau du sport étudiant du Québec) in Québec
ACAA (Atlantic Collegiate Athletic Association) in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island

In addition to governing the national championships, the CCAA also provides national awards and recognition to CCAA student-athletes, coaches, athletic directors and member institutions.


Leave a Reply